River Champion Award

In celebration of the 30th anniversary of the MICRA partnership, the River Champion Award was founded to recognize exemplary and outstanding, long-term contributions of MICRA delegates and committee members to cooperative interjurisdictional fishery management in the Mississippi River Basin. Two inaugural awards were presented in 2020.


MICRA River Champion Award Nomination Form

The Executive Board utilizes an open nomination process to identify candidates for the River Champion Award. Nominations should be in narrative form, no more than two pages, and submitted to MICRA.


River Champion Award Recipients

2020: Jerry Rasmussen, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (retired)

2020: Bobby Reed, Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (retired)